Felony DUI

Felony DUI Charges in Chicago

Facing Felony Charges for Drunk Driving?

Illinois does not tolerate driving while under the influence. If you are under 21 years old there is a zero tolerance policy and Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of anything over .00% will result in DUI charges. If you are 21 or older, you can be arrested for DUI if your BAC is over .08%.

First time offense and even most second time offense DUIs are generally charged as misdemeanors in Chicago but there are instances in which they can be felonies. An aggravated DUI offense in Illinois is charged as a felony, examples of this include:

  • DUI resulting in death (reckless homicide)
  • Being charged with a DUI when you do not have a valid license or permit
  • Not having vehicle insurance when charged with a DUI
  • DUI resulting in great bodily harm
  • DUI when there is a child under age 16 present in the vehicle who is injured due to the accident

Instances such as these can result in an aggravated DUI offense charged as a felony. There are general penalties that follow DUI convictions depending on the stage of the felony and then additions can be made according to the presence of children or results of death.

Penalties for Felony DUI

The felonies range from class four to class x with increasingly harsh penalties. The breakdown of consequences follows these guidelines:

Class Four Felony:

  • Possible imprisonment of one to three years
  • Fines up to $25,000
  • Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device

Class Three Felony:

  • Possible imprisonment of two to five years
  • Fines up to $25,000
  • Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device

Class Two Felony:

  • Possible imprisonment of three to seven years
  • Fines up to $25,000
  • Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device

Class One Felony:

  • Possible imprisonment of four to fifteen years
  • Fines up to $25,000
  • Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device

Class X Felony:

  • Imprisonment of six to thirty years
  • Fines up to $25,000
  • Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device

These are the penalties without aggravated offenses. If it is a first time offense but a child was present in the car (aggravated offense), the DUI offense can be a class four felony and on top of any other punishment the fine will be increased by a mandatory $2,500 along with 25 days of community service added. If this is a second offense and it is aggravated, it is charged as a class two felony and there is an additional $5,000 mandatory fine and 25 days of community service on top of the original class two felony penalties.

When the DUI offense is a third charge, it is a class two felony. This is punishable by a license revocation of at least 10 years and, on top of all other punishments that follow a class two felony DUI, an added 90 days in prison and a $2,500 fine. The consequences continue to grow with each subsequent offense and they are all harsh which is why it is crucial to be represented by an aggressive DUI lawyer.

Do you need a DUI defense attorney for your felony DUI case in Chicago?

The key to a strong defense is the assistance of a skilled Chicago DUI lawyer from my firm. I, Attorney Mitch Furman have years of experience dealing with all types of DUI cases. I am familiar with the extensive process that can unfold following a DUI arrest. Our state has strict laws concerning driving while intoxicated and I have been successful in helping my clients get their DUI charges reduced and dismissed. If you are facing a felony DUI, contact the Law Offices of Mitch Furman and schedule a free personal consultation with me today!

Free Consultation

Email Us About Your Case

Name:
Email:
Phone:
Select:
Message:


Make a Payment

Please click the below button to begin your online payments

Get the Help You Need—Now!

Work with an effective and experienced law firm in Chicago to resolve your legal matters.

Free Case Evaluation
I was not found guilty for a DUI!
- Shari B.
Read more comments